Do you have an opinion on thermometers? (2024)

Previous Thread

Next Thread

Print Thread

Rating: 3

Page 2 of 4 1234

Do you have an opinion on thermometers? (1)

Re: Do you have an opinion on thermometers?

Geoff Hannis#3097424/05/08 10:17 AM

Joined: Mar 2007

Posts: 115

QuinnyDo you have an opinion on thermometers? (2)

Savant

Do you have an opinion on thermometers? (3)

Quinny

Savant

Joined: Mar 2007

Posts: 115

There are 2 BIG down sides to the Exergen that we have found. The nurses try to change the batteries on them thereby damaging the casing, this should be done by EBME.(had no idea that nurses had screw drivers in thier pockets!)
The other HUGE problem that we have is that when they break down they have to be collected on mass then sent to America to be be fixed, this can take weeks/months and so you have to furnish your devices library with lots to replace faulty ones.
There are training implications involved as some one has mentioned with the cleaning and use, but all in all they are ok and acurate enough BUT only if they are properly cleaned.


Do you have an opinion on thermometers? (4)

Re: Do you have an opinion on thermometers?

Quinny#3097824/05/08 10:38 AM

Joined: Feb 2004

Posts: 14,680

Likes: 66

Geoff HannisDo you have an opinion on thermometers? (6)

Super Hero

Do you have an opinion on thermometers? (7)

Geoff Hannis

Super Hero

Joined: Feb 2004

Posts: 14,680

Likes: 66

I hope you don't mind me commenting that those are all things that should have been consider during Evaluation. That is, before they were purchased! Do you have an opinion on thermometers? (9)


If you don't inspect ... don't expect.

Do you have an opinion on thermometers? (10)

Re: Do you have an opinion on thermometers?

Geoff Hannis#3098624/05/08 9:42 PM

Joined: Mar 2007

Posts: 115

QuinnyDo you have an opinion on thermometers? (11)

Savant

Do you have an opinion on thermometers? (12)

Quinny

Savant

Joined: Mar 2007

Posts: 115

i know Geoff, needless to say we were NOT consulted, they were jsut bought by the trust and then thrust upon us.......

whats new!!!!


Do you have an opinion on thermometers? (13)

Re: Do you have an opinion on thermometers?

Quinny#3098724/05/08 10:00 PM

Joined: Feb 2004

Posts: 14,680

Likes: 66

Geoff HannisDo you have an opinion on thermometers? (15)

Super Hero

Do you have an opinion on thermometers? (16)

Geoff Hannis

Super Hero

Joined: Feb 2004

Posts: 14,680

Likes: 66

Indeed! Do you have an opinion on thermometers? (18)


If you don't inspect ... don't expect.

Do you have an opinion on thermometers? (19)

Re: Do you have an opinion on thermometers?

Geoff Hannis#3099426/05/08 10:10 AM

Joined: May 2008

Posts: 10

Stephen MitchellDo you have an opinion on thermometers? (20)OP

Novice

OPDo you have an opinion on thermometers? (21)

Stephen Mitchell

Novice

Joined: May 2008

Posts: 10

Thanks to John Sandham. You have raised some interesting points that I will need to consider.
When I came across the Exergen it made me think of doctors and their stethoscopes. Surely they can be cleaned in the same way? Although how often do doctors clean their stethoscopes? I doubt its after every patient!
The other point is testing. I know that tympanic thermometers can be checked using a portable blackbody to ensure they are within limits. Is there a similar method for the Exergen or Thermofocus?


Do you have an opinion on thermometers? (22)

Re: Do you have an opinion on thermometers?

Geoff Hannis#3099927/05/08 6:08 AM

Joined: Aug 2007

Posts: 53

GeorgeKDo you have an opinion on thermometers? (23)

Scholar

Do you have an opinion on thermometers? (24)

GeorgeK

Scholar

Joined: Aug 2007

Posts: 53

We have been moving from Genius 1 to Genius 2 of the last few months – we were supplied with a calibration CHECKER for the 2 – so there is no adjustment – if it fails we send it back. The for the 2 spec states ±0.1°C @ 25°C and ±0.2°C between 33°C and 42°C

The calibration checker also has 2 targets - 32.2°C ; ±0.3°C to 40.6°C ; ±0.3°C

When set on Oral which is the hospital protocol it adds 0.6°C to the reading – so what we find has happened is that units which all pass on the checker can have a difference of up to 0.45°C – this causes quite problem in our day surgery and emergency department , from what we can gather they need to know with a fair degree of accuracy what the temperature is – particularly with kids and so operations have been cancelled ( They cancel at 37.3°C) etc etc – as for the rest of the hospital we think they more concerned with the trend and as a result Tyco tell us they have very few problems – but we think if they surveyed day theatres and ED’s or those departments were they need to use the device establish a problem rather than monitor a trend they might get a different result – has anyone else had this issue

Regards George


Do you have an opinion on thermometers? (25)

Re: Do you have an opinion on thermometers?

GeorgeK#3100227/05/08 8:36 AM

Joined: Jul 2000

Posts: 1,962

Likes: 32

John SandhamDo you have an opinion on thermometers? (27)

Hero

Do you have an opinion on thermometers? (28)

Do you have an opinion on thermometers? (29)

John Sandham

Hero

Do you have an opinion on thermometers? (30)

Joined: Jul 2000

Posts: 1,962

Likes: 32

There is also a temperature verification tester for the temporal scan thermometers. I am not sure, but i doubt there would be any need to calibrate a modern digital device. I know (many yrs ago) we would tweak pots, but it just doesn't happen anymore. The main reason why thermometers don't read correctly is because they are dirty, or not used correctly. Do you have an opinion on thermometers? (32)


Be Proactive and reactive.

Do you have an opinion on thermometers? (33)

Re: Do you have an opinion on thermometers?

John Sandham#3100927/05/08 11:01 AM

Joined: Jan 2005

Posts: 768

KawasakiDo you have an opinion on thermometers? (35)

Philosopher

Do you have an opinion on thermometers? (36)

Kawasaki

Philosopher

Joined: Jan 2005

Posts: 768

George
If your theatre/anaesthetic staff are cancelling paediatric operations when the oral temperature is above 37.3, then your criteria is too stringent.
As pointed out by other contributors, there are differences between makes and types of thermometers with regard to accuracy and temperature readout. Also, there will be temperature differences within the buccal cavity, so the reading will depend on where the tip of the probe is placed. In addition, the buccal cavity temperature in children can be raised or lowered by their abilty to scream/ hyperventilate etc.
There are too many variables to have a cut off at 37.3 and it should be raised to 37.5 (in my opinion).


Sometimes You Can't Make It On Your Own.

Do you have an opinion on thermometers? (38)

Re: Do you have an opinion on thermometers?

Kawasaki#3102228/05/08 5:50 AM

Joined: Aug 2007

Posts: 53

GeorgeKDo you have an opinion on thermometers? (39)

Scholar

Do you have an opinion on thermometers? (40)

GeorgeK

Scholar

Joined: Aug 2007

Posts: 53

Very good point - I will speak to them about it and see what they have to say , Thanks George


Do you have an opinion on thermometers? (41)

Re: Do you have an opinion on thermometers?

GeorgeK#3126609/06/08 10:23 AM

Joined: May 2008

Posts: 10

Stephen MitchellDo you have an opinion on thermometers? (42)OP

Novice

OPDo you have an opinion on thermometers? (43)

Stephen Mitchell

Novice

Joined: May 2008

Posts: 10

Quinny, I have been (reliably) informed that the turnaround for the exergen scanners should be 28 days!
The only thing that concerns me is the cleaning protocols. If alcohol wipes are used, how long do you have to wait between patients for the probe tip to be dry enough for an accurate reading? And will they actually be cleaned between patients?
It does look good though and it seems easy to use.

Could I ask which trusts have the Exergen TAT Scanner in use and what their infection control policy is? Alcohol wipes, probe covers,...?


Last edited by Stephen Mitchell; 09/06/08 11:46 AM. Reason: add question

Page 2 of 4 1234

Moderated by DaveC in Oz, RoJo


Link Copied to Clipboard

Do you have an opinion on thermometers? (2024)

FAQs

Do thermometers give accurate readings? ›

All quality thermometers come with published accuracy specifications. For example, Thermapen ONE has an industry-leading accuracy spec of ±0.5°F (±0.3°C) whereas ThermoPop 2, our top-rated inexpensive instant-read thermometer, has an accuracy spec of ±1°F (±0.5°C) over much of its range.

Does a thermometer actually measure temperature? ›

A thermometer is an instrument that measures temperature. It can measure the temperature of a solid such as food, a liquid such as water, or a gas such as air. The three most common units of measurement for temperature are Celsius, Fahrenheit, and kelvin.

How to tell if your thermometer is accurate? ›

Ice water method to check thermometer accuracy:
  1. Fill a large glass with crushed ice.
  2. Add water to the top of the ice and stir well. Let stand for 3 minutes.
  3. Place the thermometer stem at least 2 inches into the ice water.
  4. The thermometer should read 32˚F after 30 seconds.

How do I know if my thermostat is accurate? ›

When a thermostat is working properly, it should display an accurate temperature of what it feels like inside your home. But if the room feels much hotter or colder than the display temperature, that means your thermostat can't accurately measure the room's temperature.

Can I trust my thermometer? ›

Tympanic thermometer readings are typically 0.5°F (0.3°C) to 1°F (0.6°C) higher than oral temperature readings. Axillary thermometer readings can be 0.5°F (0.3°C) to 1°F (0.6°C) lower than oral temperature readings (and may be the least reliable).

Can a thermostat be wrong? ›

Your Thermostat Reads Temperatures Incorrectly

For your HVAC to properly heat and cool your home, your thermostat must be able to read indoor temperatures accurately. If your house feels warmer or colder than your thermostat indicates, it may be time to replace it.

Do thermometers lose accuracy? ›

The potential for instruments to lose accuracy over time is sometimes called "drift." Drift in thermometers necessitates periodic calibration against standards. In the United States, NIST is responsible for setting the standards by which the accuracy of instruments are checked and reset.

Is a forehead thermometer accurate? ›

Electronic ear thermometers are common. They are easy to use. However, some users report that the results are less accurate than with probe thermometers. Electronic forehead thermometers are more accurate than ear thermometers and their accuracy is similar to probe thermometers.

Can some thermometers be wrong? ›

While we mostly found thermometers which showed incorrectly elevated temperatures, there have also been consumer reports of thermometers showing readings lower than the actual temperature, leading to missed fevers. Six of the 15 thermometers in our latest test did not meet their own accuracy claims.

Why does my thermometer keep giving different readings? ›

Multiple temperatures taken over the same area in rapid succession will ultimately cool the area, causing differences in temperature readings. Any head covering, hair, hat, etc., will prevent the heat from dissipating and would cause the reading to be inaccurately high.

How much error is in a digital thermometer? ›

For example, a mercury thermometer marked in ºC can probably be read reliably to the nearest 0.2 ºC. A digital thermometer that reports temperature to the nearest 0.1 ºC has an inherent precision of 0.05 ºC, or half of the smallest increment reported.

How accurate are temperature readings? ›

Rectal temps are the most accurate. Forehead temps are the next most accurate. Oral and ear temps are also accurate if done properly. Temps done in the armpit are the least accurate.

Can a thermometer show the wrong temperature? ›

Shock and vibration - The components in a thermometer are sensitive to extreme levels of shock and vibration. The damage that occurs may not be obvious and can cause readings to be off slightly, resulting in an instrument that is out of calibration.

What kind of thermometer gives the most accurate reading? ›

1. Digital thermometers. Digital thermometers are more advanced types of thermometers, and when used correctly, provide the most accurate results. They are also easy to use, cost-friendly, and are widely available.

How accurate are thermometers that don't touch you? ›

It is now common knowledge in the professional medical community that non-contact thermometers are too inaccurate to use as a reliable screening device for fever, and are used largely for theater effects. An August 13, 2020 article in Forbes magazine quotes Dr.

Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Tyson Zemlak

Last Updated:

Views: 6482

Rating: 4.2 / 5 (43 voted)

Reviews: 90% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Tyson Zemlak

Birthday: 1992-03-17

Address: Apt. 662 96191 Quigley Dam, Kubview, MA 42013

Phone: +441678032891

Job: Community-Services Orchestrator

Hobby: Coffee roasting, Calligraphy, Metalworking, Fashion, Vehicle restoration, Shopping, Photography

Introduction: My name is Tyson Zemlak, I am a excited, light, sparkling, super, open, fair, magnificent person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.